Skip to main content

The Department of Pharmacy

Short Historical Overview

The Department of Pharmacy was originally founded in 1977 by Presidential Act 835/1977 ΦΕΚ Α΄ 271. It received its first students in 1978 as a constituent Department of the School of Physical-Mathematical Sciences, whereas since 1983, together with the Department of Medicine, they form the School of Health Sciences (Presidential Act 127/83).

The first officially founded Laboratory of the Department of Pharmacy was that of Pharmaceutical Chemistry (1979), followed by rapid addition of Faculty Members affiliated with the new Laboratories of Pharmaceutical Technology (1981), Instrumental Pharmaceutical Analysis (1987), Pharmacognosy and Chemistry of Natural Products (1988), Molecular Pharmacology (1989), Radiation Therapy (1989), Pharmacokinetics (1989) and Physical Pharmacy (1991). The foundation as well as the internal function of all of the above Laboratories was officially approved by a Presidential Act (ΦΕΚ 38/22-02-95 τ(1)). The Laboratory of Molecular Biology and Immunology was founded in 2003, and the Laboratory of Pharmacogenomics and Individualized Therapy in 2018.

With the aforementioned Laboratories are affiliated 21 Faculty members, 2 Laboratory Teaching Staff members and 4 Special Technical Laboratory Staff members. The Administration is supported by the Secretary of the Dept. and 3 Administrative Staff members.

According to the previous Academic Year data (August 31st, 2021),the Department trains 968 undergraduate students, 56 in various stage of Ph.D. completion and 160 postgraduates in the framework of the 2 supported Postgraduate Programs: a. "Drug Design and Discovery" & b. Cosmetology - Preparation & Evaluation of Cosmetic Products". In addition the Department participates in the Interdepartmental Postgraduate Program: "Informatics for Life Sciences" and in the Inter-Institutional Program "Nanomedicine for Drug Delivery (NANOMED)", supported by 4 European Universities, namely: Paris Descartes University (coordinator, France), University of Patras (Greece), Pavia University (Italy) and Angers University (France).


The Administration is open to inquiries by Students Mon-Fri, 10:00-14:00.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.